And the winners are…

Hello, I hope everyone has had a great week and enjoying their weekend so far! Let me tell you, has this week been hectic. As of right now, I’ve been awake for 62 hours with an hour and a half power nap this morning at 9:30. I am so happy to be done with this term and that much closer to summer vacation!

But, and there’s ALWAYS a but… I am sad to say that I will no longer be making contributions to this particular blog. This blog has been created for a school assignment, but [there it is again] in a couple of weeks once summer has begun I plan to start a new page on my blog as I start my journey going into my senior year here in Eugene.

As some of you may know, the CFDA Fashion Awards were Monday evening and the winners have been announced. Before I jump into announcing the awards, I want to give a little background on the awards, for more information visit CFDA’s website.

This year the awards will be hosted by film director and screenwriter John Waters at Alice Tully Hall, Lincoln Center. For the thirteenth year in a row, the evening was generously underwritten by Swarovski.

On Monday, the event recognized the contributions made to American fashion by individuals from all areas of the industry and related arts. Awards were given for designer of the year in womenswear, menswear and accessories as well as for accomplishments in journalism, creative vision and lifetime achievement.

The CFDA Fashion Awards Guild [an invitation only network consisting of only top fashion retailers, journalists, stylists, influencers and the 450+ member designers of the CFDA] submitted their nominations for each award category; all nominees and recipients of the honorary awards are ratified by the CFDA Board of Directors.


And the winners are…

Womenswear Designer of the Year

Photo via

Jason Altuzarra








Menswear Designer of the Year

Maxwell Osborne & Dao-YiChow for Public School

Maxwell Osborne & Dao-YiChow for Public School





Accessories Designer of the Year

Ashley and Marykate Olsen for The Row

Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row





Swarovski Award for Womenswear

Shane Gabier & Christopher Peters for the Creatures of the Wind

Shane Gabier & Christopher Peters for the Creatures of the Wind





Swarovski Award for Menswear

Tim Coppens

Tim Coppens





Swarovski Award for Accessory Design

Irene Neuwirth

Irene Neuwirth





Fashion Icon Award








Receiving a CFDA Fashion Award is more than just a sculpture to put on display. The annual event and awards are presented in collaboration with Swarovski. Recipients in each category will be receiving generous financial support from the company as well as exposure to the company’s vast and innovative crystal products and applications for fashion.

Tom Ford, Bethann Hardison, Paul Cavaco, Raf Simons [for Christian Dior], and Ruth Finley were also recognized and awarded for their contributions to the fashion world.

There you have it folks (can you tell I’m a true 90s child?), the winners for the 2014 CFDA Fashion Awards. It’s been great beginning my blogging career, if you will, and I look forward to continue once the craziness of finals passes!

Until Next Time,


“And the 2014 CFDA Fashion Awards Winners are….” CFDA. CFDA, 3 June 2014. Web. 3 June 2014. <>.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s